What is a University Consortium?

 Six subsidiary higher education centres, each known as a “University Consortium”, were created in Finland in 2004; at Kajaani, Kokkola, Lahti, Mikkeli, Pori and Seinäjoki, towns that do not have a university of their own but act as satellite centres for local courses and research arranged under the auspices of several universities situated elsewhere. They are thus umbrella organizations that coordinate the regional activities of various universities, with the objective of improving the visibility of these universities in the respective satellite areas. Certain synergic advantages can be gained from arranging joint supporting services. It is also hoped that the consortia will establish networks of their own, with other educational institutions, and with local commercial and industrial representatives.

Each consortium has one university responsible for coordinating its activities. In the case of Kokkola, this is the University of Jyväskylä.

The third purpose of a university

The university consortia are looked on above all as means by which the conventional universities can achieve what is often referred to as their “third purpose” (alongside teaching and research), namely that of promoting the impact of this teaching and research within society.